So much Joy, for a trifling $2.95!

Logo of Ikea. Drawn by Mysid on a PNG original...

Image via Wikipedia

I come to you live from…my house.

That’s right, I have moved in, FINALLY! My hands are trashed with blisters and cuts and scrapes and extreme dryness from handling so much cardboard and paper, but I am now sitting on my couch, in my living room.  There is a lot of work to do, and it will literally take months, if not years, to get the more significant renovations completed, but I am loving having my own space, which I can indeed make, my own.

I have also realised I have far too many clothes for one person and this has been most significantly highlighted by the fact that I am currently without a wardrobe and I have to somehow find sufficient hanging and storage space without making my little nest seem cluttered and unruly.

Thank goodness for Ikea and their very affordable “Rigga” systems which can be hidden away in a closed second bedroom!

I have spent many an hour in Ikea the past week or so, and I have to admit that for all my snobbery regarding all things flat-pack in the past, I am beginning to derive immense joy from discovering all there is to discover about ingenious European space-saving ideas.  I have also developed a particular liking for the little stick on LED lights that you can put in cupboards and hard-to-light places. Even better, I discovered yesterday that for this week only, they could be mine for a mere $2.95.

I bought four.

I now have to figure out where I am going to put four stick-on light widgets.

But I’m confident I’ll find a use for them one day.

Meanwhile The Crush gave me a water cooler as a house warming present.  It is pretty cool (no pun intended), but I’m not sure I’m coordinated enough to install the 15kg water bottles it houses without flooding my living room…

Leave a Reply

