Survival of the Fittest

New York City Marathon

Image by Pabo76 via Flickr

I have been rather tardy with the blog recently.  This is primarily due to the fact that the browser on my work computer is out of date and thus, WordPress is not liking me so much at the moment.  For the record, I generally do write the posts either after work or during my lunch break, or if I get in early.  But as my ‘study’ is still packed full with boxes and my house is just perpetually in a state of chaos, and I never seem to have time to turn on my laptop (the term “laptop” is also used loosely, given that my ex-fiancé bought it for me at my request for him to find me something small, lightweight and portable but with enough grunt to handle the gigabytes of space occupied by the data and various drafts of my thesis- what I ended up with was a not-so-lightweight 8kg 17inch media centre which resembles a laptop but which is by no means “small” or readily “portable”, thus, it stays put and does not travel with me EVER). In any case, after a small prompt by a good friend I have decided to simply draft my posts in Word or email format with the intention of saving and posting when I can. 

I must also clarify that despite the technical issues, there has also been a bit of procrastinating in that there has been plenty to write about, but I didn’t really want to face the words, because if I write about something that is making me unhappy, then I feel compelled to act on it, but I’m not sure I’m ready to act on anything right now. Everything is a jumble, I’m in some kind of state of flux, I’m confused, emotional and…confused! Thus, I am in denial until the fog clears.

There is one outcome that I can report on though, and that is, my friend R and I survived the 14km fun run last Sunday.  I was really surprised at how well it went really, given the lack of training.  The longest run we did in training was an 8km, ONCE, 3 weeks prior.  Yet, somehow we managed to come in 8 minutes faster than last year at 1 hour 22 mins, despite the fact that this time last year my long runs comprised 20km, every Saturday!  We did this on only 4.5 hours sleep after having attended a friends birthday dinner the night before, which was loads of fun and which left me feeling severely dehydrated- no, not from alcohol consumption, but rather, talking and laughing so much!! Equally amazing (for me) was the fact that although I had my iPod with me, it was not necessary to turn it on to drown out my pain.

I think this can be attributed to the HIIT training I’ve been doing, I’m stronger, even though I’m not running nearly as much as I used to.  I have also had fewer injuries this year, mind you I have had more days where I was so sore even finding a comfortable position to lie in when sleeping was impossible!!! But you’ve got to take the good with the bad.

My trainer seems rather pleased with the progress- despite that he is very anti –running.  He thinks it’s bad for you (physically, not mentally)

I am not deterred, I figure it’s his job to make me strong so that I can minimise the chance of injury, but I am rather determined to aim for the New York marathon next year.  If I can do a half marathon in under 1:37, then I can qualify for it.  However, that is highly unlikely so looks like I am going to have to save my pennies as best I can and just simply try to buy my way in!! NY2012….it’s going to happen!

One thought on “Survival of the Fittest

  1. Welcome back. As much as a crab loves her shell sometimes she just needs to expose herself (and not in a rude way).
    As for the half – if we can match M (though he’ll be doing the full), we are on track!

Leave a Reply

