One Dog Down

Flatcoat retriever teef.

Flatcoat retriever teef. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I’m one dog down at the moment.  Spike has taken a vacation to mum and dad’s, to run around their farm for a week and hopefully burn off some excess steam.  They get walked daily but he still insists on digging new holes all over my backyard.  The other day he dug a hole so deep he exposed all of the water pipes…and then he dug some more!!

In the meantime, it’s also a test to see how Tess might cope without him.  The folks have expressed an interest in perhaps adopting him- provided he can get along with their very non-sociable German Shepherd. 

I love him and I can’t bear the thought of sending him off to a totally new family.  Nevertheless, I am seriously at my wits end- he is by far the most destructive dog I have ever owned, and other than concreting the entire backyard, I really don’t know how to stop him.  I also really don’t know how I will cope with this continued annihilation of my lawn and garden- it currently resembles something akin to a moonscape, and I can see it becoming a mud-pit in coming winter months.  I don’t mind one hole, but it seems the is determined to excavate every last inch!  He’s just a very “busy” dog and I struggle to keep him sufficiently entertained.  It was easier when I was still with my ex fiance – he used to finish work earlier than me so the dogs definitely had more human interaction during daylight hours.

Still, the house did seem quite empty (albeit calmer) without him.  It’s just that he is so gosh-darn affectionate, makes it impossible not to miss him!

Perhaps I need to get on with building a dedicated sandpit for them sooner, rather than later.

Right now I can’t help but wonder what state the yard will be in when I get home tonight, will be interesting to see how Tess coped without him for a full day.

2 thoughts on “One Dog Down

Leave a Reply

