The Biggest Investment I’ll Ever Make

http://henrystudio.blogspot.com.au/2009_03_01_archive.html

Winning!

Got through lunch today with a girlfriend I hadn’t seen in a while and DIDN’T COMPLAIN!  This was quite a feat, given I had to fill her in on the whole G saga.

Today however, was a special day.  Today I did something.  Today I took a step that I have almost taken so many times over the past 6 years.  Today I started something that I have been afraid to start for a very long time.

Today I enrolled in a writing course.

And I emailed a creative writer’s group.

The whole reason I started this blog was because I love writing but I didn’t know how. 

I wasn’t always like this, I used to write A LOT when I was younger, although it was more creative writing. Then life got in the way, I dropped all of my arts subjects in upper high school to pursue maths & science.  Then when I was at uni, I didn’t write all that much but I would spend every spare moment reading.  Then I joined the workforce and my reading became career-relevant/technical reading. 

And before I knew it, I had lost my ability to be creative.  What used to come naturally to me, was now a struggle. 

So, I’m going back to school – only for a few days – but I am just super excited to see what I get out of this. 

I don’t want to just be writing an online diary.  I want to be writing things that inspire, emotive things, interesting things, educational things.

I want to learn how to formulate and organise my thoughts- wouldn’t that be a trick! I cannot wait to apply that learning to many areas of my life!

But most of all, I want to learn to express myself in writing, in a sophisticated, intelligent and thoughtful way.

For the first time in a very long time, I have invested in myself in a meaningful way and it feels so satisfying.

 

 

One thought on “The Biggest Investment I’ll Ever Make

  1. That’s wonderful, Serene! I’m so happy for you. It’s sounds exciting. I can just imagine the degree of satisfaction you feel.

Leave a Reply

